TMI????

I am shutting down my computer, iPad, iPod, tv, stopping all magazine/news subscriptions!!  I can’t take it anymore…I am starting to get the heebie-jeebies….

This year alone:
Spinach is recalled due to Listeria contamination….
Ground Beef recall in 3 states (not mine, but WHO really knows….) due to E.Coli
Eggs and Peanut Butter recalled due to Salmonella
Lets not even discuss our drinking water….
The last straw for me was an abcnews report yesterday that found: “The study included 148 pork chops and 50 ground pork samples from around the United States.  In the samples tested, 69 percent tested positive for yersinia and 11 percent for enterococcus, which can indicate fecal contamination that can lead to urinary-tract infections. Salmonella and listeria, the more well-known bacterium, registered at 4 percent and 3 percent, respectively”.  (quote directly from article)
Now, I am not one to take media reports at their word.  There tends to be bias somewhere in the reporting.  However, these are FACTS.  I have an 103 year old Grandmother that can still dress and feed herself (Dementia, but no other health issues). Yet as I approach 50, I have all sorts of maladies, including not being able to lose weight.  Clearly, I can’t blame it on bad “genes.”
Now, I can’t live in a bubble and I don’t have a farm.  But, I am really (SERIOUSLY, NOT JOKING) developing a real fear of foods.  I am not a nut, I promise. I know my issues…but, I’m afraid I will turn into wholistic nut.  I want to be healthy.  I want to be like my Grandma and live to be 100+ (still beating the grandkids and great-grands in chess).  I want to enjoy my meals.  Now, when I look at my plate, I wonder what am I eating? what am I feeding my family?
Sigh….
Leave a Reply

